HAMPSHIRE RUGBY

PRINCIPAL SPONSORS

SnowsNewRFullers


Hampshire RFU Year 7 & 8 Girl Schools Festival - Thursday 1st March - Winchester RFC - SO23 7SU 

 

The Year 7&8 Hampshire Girls Schools tournament that will be held on

 Thursday 1st  March at  Winchester RFC North Walls Park, Hillier Way, Winchester SO23 7SU commencing at 1030.

 

  

Team Entries:  We will run two separate events on the day to cater for the varying abilities of the players:

  1. Still Developing Teams:Majority of players not yet competent in

tackle, ruck & maul and still need to develop confidence

  1. Competent Teams:  Able to tackle, ruck & maul

 

To help with organisation could you please advise what event your school will participate in and how many teams you will bring along for each competition. 

 

(There is no limit as we would like to engage as many girls playing as possible). 

 

Please provide this information to the Competition Coordinator Dean Lewis  deanlewis@rfu.com  Mobile: 07711 385915

no later than close of play Friday 16th February.   

 

Please check your school below:

  • Not Yet Entered: If your school is not shown and you would like to take part please advise Dean Lewisdeanlewis@rfu.comno later than Friday 16th February.
  • Thought you entered:  If your school is not shown please accept my apologies advise Dean Lewisdeanlewis@rfu.comno later than Friday 16th February and he will add your school to the attendance list
  • Entered:  We look forward to seeing you at the event

           

School

Contact Teacher

E-Mail

Amery Hill School

Kathleen DIgby

k.digby@ameryhill.hants.sch.uk

Applemore College

Roxanne Arnold

r.arnold@applemore.hants.sch.uk

Arnewood School

Tim Merrick

t.merrick@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Ballard School

Justin Whitbread

justin.whitbread@ballardschool.co.uk

Bishop Challoner Catholic Secondary School

Caroline Cooper

Gareth.Lewis@bcs.hants.sch.uk (Year 7/8 Girls)
carol.kearney@bcs.hants.sch.uk (Year 7/8 Girls)

Brookfield Community School

Dan Gates

d.gates@Brookfield.Hants.Sch.Uk

Cantell School

LUKE WILSON

luke.wilson@cantell.co.uk

Cams Hill School

David Worthy

dworthy@camshill.com

Hamble School

Matt Parnell

mparnell@thehambleschool.co.uk

Henry Beaufort

Charlie Naisbitt

Charlie.naisbitt@staff.beaufort.hants.sch.uk

Henry Cort Community College

Frank Bagnall

fgb@henrycort.org

Kings’ School Winchester

Ben Hall

bhall5@kings-winchester.hants.sch.uk

Mountbatten School

Ian Rice

ian.rice@mountbatten.hants.sch.uk

Noadswood

Terry Shearsmith

terry.shearsmith@noadswood.hants.sch.uk

Oaklands Catholic School

Richard Neil

r.neil@oaklandscatholicschool.org

Perins School

Ollie Ledsham

Ledsham@perins.hants.sch.uk

Petersfield School

Ricardo Ramshaw

tpsrrw@ThePetersfieldSchool.onmicrosoft.com

Portsmouth Academy

Mr A Tart

andy.tart2@gmail.com

Priestlands School

Danny Hodnett

staff.hodnett@priestlands.hants.sch.uk

Ringwood School

Jonathan David Allun Owen

jonathan.owen@ringwood.hants.sch.uk

Romsey School

Calum McGregor

cmcgregor@romsey.hants.sch.uk

St. George Catholic College

Matthew Ellerby

mellerby@stgcc.co.uk

Swanmore College

Jessica Rudd

Jessica.Rudd@swanmore-sec.hants.sch.uk

Testbourne Community School

Vanessa O’Shea

v.oshea@testbourne.hants.sch.uk

Toynbee

Stewart Magee

s.magee@toynbee.hants.sch.uk

Wyvern College

Stuart McCracken

s.mccracken@wyvern.hants.sch.uk

          

YEAR 7 & 8 combined (U13)

 

-  10-a-side

-  Rolling substitutions

- Max squad of 15

-  5 Player Scrums – UNCONTESTED

-  Pitch – (Up to) 60 x43 metres

-  No-Hand-offs

-  No Kicking out of hand or for touch

-  No line-out

- All restarts are a standing free pass

-  After the tackle - The most players that can be in a ruck or maul are two support players from each side. i.e. The ball carrier, the tackler, plus two additional player from each side.

 

  

Format for the Day:

  • Arrival and Registration: 9.30am – 9.45am, please register with the member of England Rugby Community staff in the car park who will give you further information.
  • Teacher’s Brief: 10.10am
  • First Games Commence: 10.30am
  • Latest finish time: 3.30pm

Weather:  Please check the forecast ahead of the event and ensure that your children bring appropriate clothing.

 

Refreshments:  Tea/coffee and sandwiches will be provided for teachers. Please make sure your pupils bring their own lunches.

 

Please be reminded that the focus for all our festivals is on the children participating having fun, learning and developing their understanding of rugby. For many of the Yr7 children it will be their first experience and we would like them to leave feeling positive about the game.

 

Our Core Values are at the centre of everything we do Teamwork,Respect, Enjoyment, Discipline and Sportsmanship and ask that you reinforce these throughout the day.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site

EU Cookie Directive Plugin Information